Running in the Sun

July 6, 2007 at 11:53 pm 1 comment

Today I took the day off. My husband had the morning off as well so I thought we would go for a morning run. Of course we didn’t leave the house as early as we should of, we didn’t head out until 9:30.  We got about a tenth of a mile into our run when I saw someone I knew and so we stopped and talked for a minute and had to restart the run.  At first I didn’t notice how sunny it was, but as the run went on, all I could think of was how hot I was and how much I wish I had brought water.  We were running only 4 miles so I didn’t think I would need it.  We were 1.5 miles into the run when we got to the park, which is a bit more shaded.  Even better, the sprinklers were running in the flower garden about half way around the one mile loop we follow in the park. I stopped until the sprinkler hit me and then ran slowly letting the sprinkler hit me as it continued in a circle.  This kept me cool for a while.  We left the park and began our 1.5miles back home.  I found a few more sprinklers to run through, and it helped keep me a bit cooler.  I may have run with wet hair from now on or wear a hat. I get way too hot.

Distance: 4 miles
Time : (including sprinkler stops) 57:55
Time stopped 2:55
Splits  13:30, 14:39, 14:35, 14:56
aver pace: 14:29
Temp 83

Entry filed under: running, summer.

3 miles on the 4th Oops- I have been working out really

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisa sabin  |  July 8, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Which half-marathon are you running? I was a runing buddy for girls on the run a few years ago. A client’s daughter needed a running buddy and I stepped up. Great program!

    I formed my own team to do the first Diva Dash in Seattle. I trained my daughter’s volleyball team 2 years ago. It was a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



