Happy Trails to you….

June 16, 2007 at 11:36 pm 2 comments

Today was the Happy Trails 5k, an event to benefit the Toledo metroparks. This race was one of the first races I did last year, so I was excited to see how it would be this year.  We got to the race early to pick up our chips, only for there to be a small issue with my number being duplicated.  The issue was resolved and we got ready for the race.  The race started and I was walking waiting for my feet to cross the pad to activate the chip.  I then realized that it was just a chip finish and started my run.  It was really hot and I started off too fast.   I was trying to keep a good pace, but it was definitely too fast. The first mile came and went without any major issue.  Garmin Time: 12:04

Second mile, started off ok, but there is a .2 mile stretch on a bridge that seems to go on for much longer. I can’t go fast on the bridge because the wood planks aren’t even and I fear I will fall.   I slow down and walk. It is about here that my calves start to burn.

My mom has gone ahead per my instruction, but I wish I had someone to run with. I can see her ahead and my husband behind and I trudge on. I must also mention that I couldn’t find any of my fast pace  songs on my ipod so I kept listening to Eye of the Tiger.  As I head toward mile 2, I see a big pack of runners looping around to the finish. I reach the water and pour it down my back, drinking some as well.

Mile 2 Garmin Time: 13:00 (25:04 total)

It is about this time that I end up running near a couple. They aren’t fast but they keep a steady pace. I end up passing them only for them to pass me when I walk.

I am walking more and more as the heat is beating down on me, I know I am making a decent pace to I walk when I need to.  I can still see my mom ahead, but I know I can’t catch her.   I know the end is getting near, I try to save my energy as I know the end is up hill.  I look at my garmin and see I am still under 40…I pick up the pace.   I see the woman from that couple come past me and I try to sprint past her but I can’t.  I see the finish…and sprint toward it.

Total Garmin time : 39:32.  Actual time : 39:47 (i think)

My personal best is still 39:29, but I did shave at least 1.5 minutes off my race time for this race from last year.

My mom once again placed 3rd in her age group. Go Mom.

Entry filed under: 5k, running.

$5.00 for a Cure Crosstraining

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ShoreTurtle  |  June 17, 2007 at 9:29 am

    Great job. It’s really hard running in the heat. Congrats on beating your time from last year. Your training is going well!

  • 2. havybeaks  |  June 18, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Good job, especially getting so close to your PR despite the heat! Hot weather can really be rough to run in. Keep up the running!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



