How long were we running today?

June 10, 2007 at 3:18 pm 2 comments

After feeling pressured to run faster,  I let my husband pick the course and lead today. Our goal was to do 5 miles.   His route was good , except that it meant a bunch of sidewalk running, which my knees and I don’t like.   He set the pace in the beginning, I would pass him as needed and vise versa.  As a result of not being the pace setter, our pace was faster then we usually do for the long runs.  This was fine for the first couple of miles, but it lead to need for a few more walking breaks toward the middle.   It was 3.5 miles into the run when I realized we had at least 2 miles to we got home.   At this point, we slowed down a bit, I didn’t plan on doing six miles ,and the sun seemed to be pounding. The 4 mile we were in the park, it was shady and the path was gravel, and I think that helped our pace.  At this point I realized we were heading toward doing a 6 mile run.   I was hopt and tired….at this point by the way I was leading and ended up walking until my husband caught up and then I ran again.  The last mile I must have gottten my second wind. I think it was the thought that home was close by finally.   

Total Distance 6miles
Time : 1:26:08
Splits 13:05, 13:56, 14:44, 13:23, 15:46, 14:36

Average pace 14:49
 

Entry filed under: running.

Cross Training Fundraising

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



