Yes I am a runner.

June 9, 2007 at 6:21 pm 2 comments

Growing up, I was never a runner.  I played soccer when I was very little ( in the first and I think second grade),  but I never really played other sports.   Due to funding cuts, we didn’t have gym in my elementary school after the third grade.  In junior high and high school,  I was chubby, and not super coordinated and I dreaded gym class and the presidential fitness mile. 

I think about this because I thought about writing some of my high school and college classmates to see if I could get them to donate to my cause.  As I was writing the emails, I was thinking to myself, would they believe that I am a runner now.  

I guess thats part of why I am raising money to allow more girls to run, to expand the idea of what a “runner” is .  I am a runner

Entry filed under: 1/2 marathon, friends, running.

Nutrition bar recommendation Cross Training

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  July 14, 2007 at 9:37 am

    I had a similar experience and didn’t become a runner until my late 20’s. Good luck in you goals.

  • 2. Database Diva  |  July 29, 2007 at 3:08 am

    Congratulations on choosing to be a runner, and for recognizing that you are one! Girls on the Run is an excellent cause. Good luck with your training and fund raising. When I’m out running and I pass young girls, I shout to them “Girls who run have more fun!” because I want them to see life’s possibilities.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



