The 5k

May 20, 2007 at 3:22 pm 2 comments

Today was the For Women only 5k, the race that my Girls on the Run Team has been training for.   I woke up this morning, and I was nervous, nervous as I was the day I got married and the day my sister got married. I am never usually this nervous when running a race.  I realized it was because I wasn’t really running this race for me. I was running as a Coach for my team and I was worried about them.

We got to the location of the race early.  My mom was there too and my husband. My husband wasn’t running since the race was only for Women, but he came to help and I appreciate that.

One of the girls was already there waiting for me. I was on time, but she was worried. Her chip and number weren’t there.  We were told they would be in the location by our school, but turns out I had to go inside to get them. So I went inside to get the packets, only find that the numbers and chips were there, but that the goodie bags were somewhere else. 

Finally everything was found and we started getting the girls ready for the race.  They were very excited and a little nervous.  There were over 1000 people running the race, and a ton of other girls on the run.  We only had two girls who could make it, which was sad, but ok.  We lined up at the start and of course the race started a bit late, so they started gettin antsy

We decided before the race that the other coach  and I would split up with which ever girl needed someone to run with.   This was good plan as not much sooner then we started did we start to have one girl wanting to run the other needing to walk.  The one girl went ahead with her mom, only to get tired later and she luckily found my mom and ran with her some. We caught up with her and the other coach started running with her.  At this point my mom was able to go off and run the rest of the race , which was good as I realized that I really was just going to have to COACH and not try to worry about running my race.

 The girl I was with got a cramp and really thought she should give up. This was 1.1 mile into the race. Luckily , we tried running slow and that made the cramp feel better.  We walk ran the majority of the rest of the race. I told her when water was coming only to find out they had almost ran out of water.  We had only a sip.   2 miles in and you could tell a lot of the girls were getting tired.  I was talking to other girls from other teams as we  walked and ran and walked and ran.  They were really excited to be running, and I did my best to assure them that they were doing fine even though we weren’t at the front of the pack.   .5 miles left and I can see the end, I tell my girl that we should not run too fast until she can see the end and is ready to sprint, she gave word she was ready and off she went running across the finish line, her dad was there and hopefully got some great pictures.  Time  51:41.    As we got to the end , my husband, mom and the rest of the team were there.  It will be interesting to see everyone’s official time.

It was so fun to see all the other little girls running. There was a 5 year old in full running gear, tech shirt and all. It made me smile.

Coaching is definitely something I would do again,  I just need to remind myself that I can’t plan on running the race for real if I do.

Entry filed under: 5k, GOTR, running.

Thursday Workout update Another Day another 5k

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ShoreTurtle  |  May 20, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    I’m happy that it went well for you and the girls. GOTR seems like a great organization. I’m glad that you are a part of it and that you helped make a difference in their lives.

  • 2. B  |  May 21, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I’m so proud of you. You are doing so great by helping out those girls. I hope you can do the program again next year! You made such a difference to them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



