Girls on the Run Mock 5k

May 8, 2007 at 7:20 pm 2 comments

When I was planning the Mock 5k, I would have never thought that it would be so warm today. It was 80 degrees. Lucky for me, we have some great parents involved that pulled if off. The girls were troopers. They completed the full 5k if not more, there was a lot of walking, but I don’t blame them given the temperature.  We had a water station set up as well as a hose to run through, on each of the 3 laps.  We even had a parent on the route cheering.  At the end the girls broke through a finish line tape and it seemed like they had tons of fun.  We celebrated with popsicles and bagels.  I am really proud of them.  Time for the 5k was 53 minutes, but that includes the playing in the water/water stop and traffic stops.  Not bad for little 3rd and 4th graders.  

One of the girls didn’t run due to sore toe.  She volunteered to hand out water though so that worked out well.

I think this also counts as a training run, even though my pace was slow and I walked at least half of it.

I do think it helped the girls to see how long a 5k is and to think about how they need to pace themselves etc.

Entry filed under: 5k, GOTR, training, Uncategorized.

10k Analysis 2nd 5k in two days

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mcgheetraining  |  May 9, 2007 at 2:36 am

    That’s really cool! My 8-yr-old would’ve loved that.

  • 2. B  |  May 9, 2007 at 9:57 am

    You rock.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



