Dart Frog Dash 2007

April 21, 2007 at 3:14 pm Leave a comment

Today was the dart frog dash. The weather at race time was about 50 degrees. Perfect for running. My knee is still a bit sore from a mishap I had earlier in the week with a pole. Don’t ask. I set out to try to run as much as I could and I think knowing in my head that meant I wasn’t going to be fast. I ran with my mom and my husband who both are much faster then they were last year at this time. The sun was out, and it was a bit windy. The run started late, which is always a pain as is the fact that it isn’t a chipped race so my actual time is always slower then the real finish time.

The first mile felt really good , but I was thirsty and people were passing us left and right because the start is pretty narrow. First mile was about 13.00 (will confirm later once I upload). Second mile I walked a bit in the beginning, got water at the water station and tried to run most of the trip back into the zoo. My knee hurt a little, but it wasn’t too bad. The last mile was back out of the zoo, as they are doing construction and then back up the zoo walk ramp and down again to the finish. My mom was ahead of me, my husband right behind me As I was getting to the zoo ramp, I saw a little girl running her hardest as her dad was a head of her yelling at her to hurry up. I ended up running with the girl most of the rest of the race, encouraging her as mucha s I could, trying to let her know she was doing good. I turned the corner and saw the finish. I ran as fast as I could. I don’t think I beat my previous time, but feel good that I ran almost the whole thing.

Official Time

41:08

Garmin time : 41:04 and it says I went 3.25 miles.

Entry filed under: 5k, races, running.

Women on the Move Week 6 Eating and Training Schedule

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



